general · Greek mothers

Δε φοβάμαι / I ‘m not afraid 22.3.2017

Δε φοβάμαι. Γιατί οι σκιές θα φύγουν και το φως θα έρθει.

Δε φοβάμαι. Είμαι μητέρα και ξέρω. Εκείνος ήταν πατέρας, μα θέλησε να πάρει ζωές, μαζί και τη δική του. Διάλεξε τρέλα, διαλέγω ζωή.

Δε φοβάμαι. Γιατί η αγάπη νικάει, μα το μίσος χάνει – πάντα.

Δε φοβάμαι κι ας ήρθε και στην Αγγλία ο τρόμος. Δημόσιος κίνδυνος, ξαφνικά η ασφάλειά σου κλονίζεται. Η μητέρα εκείνη με Ελληνικές/Κυπριακές ρίζες πήγαινε να πάρει τα παιδιά της – εργαζόμενη, υπέροχη γυναίκα – και η ζωή της σταμάτησε εκεί, στη γέφυρα επάνω, που ένωνε τα όνειρά της με την πραγματικότητά της.

Εγώ δεν είμαι στο Λονδίνο, είναι όμως άλλες μητέρες, το ξέρω.

Είμαι προς τα πάνω, εκεί που αυτός έζησε και εξελίχθηκε. Τόσο κοντά οι κόσμοι μας, τόσο μακριά. Το μίσος μας απομακρύνει, μα η αγάπη μας ενώνει.

Είμαστε δυνατοί και κοιτάμε ψηλά. Γιατί αν κοιτάμε κάτω, χαθήκαμε.

Στέλνω αγάπη από την οικογένειά μου.

5965504312_872cc2d4d7_o.jpg

 

I ‘m not afraid. Because the shadows will go and light will come.

I’m not afraid. I ‘m a mother and I know. He was a father, but he wanted to take away lives, along with his. He chose madness, I choose life.

I ‘m not afraid. Because love wins, but hatred fails – all the time.

I ‘m not afraid although terror arrived in England. Public danger, suddenly your safety is shaken. That mother with Greek/Cypriot roots would fetch her children – a working, amazing woman – and her life stopped there, on the bridge, connecting her dreams with her reality.

I ‘m not in London, but there are other mothers there, I know.

I ‘m towards the North, where he lived and blossomed. Our worlds being so near, but so far. Hatred tears us apart, but love unites us.

We are strong and we look up; because if we look down we perish.

Love from my family.

5468968831_f46aed8143_o

Leave a Reply

